baseball player in a group


The Carl Sandburg College baseball program has won seven Arrowhead Conference championships in its history. Sandburg's first baseball coach was Bill Tuttle, a former major leaguer, and three former Chargers — Jason Hardebeck, Greg Smock and Larry Whitford — have gone on to sign minor league baseball contracts. Home games are played at the William "Bill" Hungate Baseball/Softball Complex on the Main Campus in Galesburg.

Arrowhead Conference Champions
1974, 1982, 1987, 1989, 2008, 2018, 2019

Region IV runner-up
2008, 2016

2020 Baseball Roster
baseball roster
Hometown/High School
1 Austin Collinson Fr. IF/RHP R R 5-11 185 Normal, Ill./Normal West
2 Cam Scott Fr. IF/OF/RHP R R 6-0 165 Mapleton, Ill./Illini Bluffs
3 Brett Marsh Fr. C L R 5-9 160 Mapleton, Ill./Limestone
4 Wynn Takacs So. IF/OF S R 5-11 175 Tipton, Ind./Taylor
5 Jonah Burt So. OF R R 5-5 155 LaHarpe, Ill./Illini West
6 Isaac Riegler So. IF/OF/RHP R R 5-10 175 McLean, Ill./Olympia
8 Hunter Darst So. C/OF R R 5-11 185 Avon, Ill./Abingdon-Avon
9 Noah Hoepfner RS So. OF R R 6-3 200 East Moline, Ill./United Township
10 Caileb Johnson Fr. 1B R R 6-1 205 Brimfield, Ill./Brimfield
11 Luke Jones Fr. C R R 5-9 190 Rantoul, Ill./Rantoul
13 Khyri White So. RHP/OF R R 5-10 150 Rock Island, Ill./Rock Island
14 Gavin Smith So. LHP R L 6-2 180 Henry, Ill./Henry-Senachwine
15 Jesse Goropesek Fr. RHP R R 6-4 190 Bloomington, Ill./Bloomington
16 Ben Higgins Fr. OF R R 5-11 185 Macomb, Ill./Macomb
18 Garrett Allen RS Fr. RHP R R 6-2 220 Kasbeer, Ill./Princeton
19 Jacob Burg So. RHP R R 6-3 210 Macomb, Ill./Macomb
20 Zach Ori Fr. LHP L L 6-0 175 Bartonville, Ill./Limestone
21 Sam Scott Fr. IF/RHP R R 6-0 160 Deer Creek, Ill./Deer Creek-Mackinaw
22 Turner Mann Fr. RHP R R 6-3 165 Metamora, Ill./Metamora
23 Koy Smith So. OF R R 6-2 180 Revere, Mo./Canton
24 Kelly Osburn RS So. RHP R R 6-1 175 East Moline, Ill./United Township
26 Tyler Baysingar So. RHP R R 5-11 160 Brimfield, Ill./Brimfield
28 Nolan Jenkins So. RHP R R 6-2 160 Galesburg, Ill./Galesburg
29 Brandt Samuelson So. RHP R R 6-2 165 Rock Island, Ill./Rock Island
30 Jackson Porter So. RHP L R 6-2 190 LaHarpe, Ill./Illini West


Head coach: Josh Foreman (12)
Assistant coaches: Chad Scott (27), Robb Wicks, Randy Wittenberg


2019-20 Baseball Schedule

Fall Season 

Fall 2019 schedule
Thursday, Aug. 29 2 p.m. Southeastern HOME
Friday, Sept. 6 3 p.m. Illinois Central HOME
Tuesday, Sept. 10 5 p.m. Southeastern West Burlington, Iowa
Sunday, Sept. 13 1 p.m. Spoon River HOME
Thursday, Sept. 19 6 p.m. Quincy Quincy
Thursday, Sept. 26 3 p.m. Triton Sophomore Showcase River Grove
Sunday, Sept. 29 UIS Showcase Springfield
11:30 a.m. Triton Univ. of Illinois-Springfield
Thursday, Oct. 3 3 p.m. Ontario 18U HOME
Friday, Oct. 4 Rockford Showcase Rockford
3:30 p.m. Ellsworth Rivets Stadium
5:45 p.m. Kirkwood Rivets Stadium
Sunday, Oct. 6 11 a.m. Spoon River (DH) Canton
Tuesday, Oct. 8 5 p.m. Illinois Central East Peoria
Monday, Oct. 14 3 p.m. St. Ambrose JV (scrimmage) HOME
Friday, Oct. 18 4 p.m. St. Ambrose JV (scrimmage) Davenport, Iowa (Modern Woodmen Park)

Spring Season 

Spring 2020 schedule
Feb. 21-23 John A. Logan Classic Carterville
Friday, March 6 2 p.m. Kankakee (9 inn.) Carterville
Saturday, March 7 3:30 p.m. Parkland (9 inn.) Marion (Rent One Ballpark)
Sunday, March 8 TBD John A. Logan (9 inn.) Carterville
Monday, March 9 1 p.m. Kankakee (9 inn.) Carterville
Tuesday, March 10 Noon Dyersburg State Dyersburg, Tenn.
Wednesday, March 18 3 p.m. Spoon River (9 inn.) HOME
Saturday, March 21 1 p.m. South Suburban South Holland
Sunday, March 22 1 p.m. DuPage HOME
Tuesday, March 24 2:30 p.m. McHenry County Crystal Lake
Wednesday, March 25 2 p.m. Southeastern (9 inn.) HOME
Saturday, March 28 Noon Kishwaukee* HOME
Tuesday, March 31 2 p.m. Kishwaukee* Malta
Wednesday, April 1 3 p.m. Illinois Central (9 inn.) HOME
Saturday, April 4 Noon Highland* Freeport
Sunday, April 5 1 p.m. Rock Valley Rockford
Tuesday, April 7 2 p.m. Highland* HOME
Friday, April 10 Noon Joliet HOME
Saturday, April 11 Noon Black Hawk* Moline
Tuesday, April 14 2 p.m. Black Hawk* HOME
Friday, April 17 1 p.m. Madison Madison, Wis.
Saturday, April 18 Noon Sauk Valley* Dixon
Sunday, April 19 2 p.m. Harry S. Truman HOME
Tuesday, April 21 2 p.m. Sauk Valley* HOME
Wednesday, April 22 6 p.m. Illinois Central (9 inn.) East Peoria
Saturday, April 25 Noon Illinois Valley* HOME
Sunday, April 26 Noon Kankakee Kankakee
Tuesday, April 28 2 p.m. Illinois Valley* Oglesby
Wednesday, April 29 2:30 p.m. Morton HOME
Thursday, April 30 3 p.m. Spoon River (9 inn.) Canton
Sunday, May 3 1 p.m. Rock Valley HOME
Tuesday, May 5 5 p.m. Southeastern (9 inn.) West Burlington, Iowa


All spring season games doubleheaders unless otherwise noted
* Arrowhead Conference

Coaching Staff


Josh Foreman

Head Coach

Josh Foreman was named the Chargers' coach in August 2018 after first joining Sandburg as an assistant during the 2017-18 season. 

In Foreman's first season at the helm, the Chargers posted a 27-13-1 overall record and 17-1 in the Arrowhead Conference as Sandburg won back-to-back conference titles for the first time in program history.

In 2018, Foreman's lone season as an assistant, the Chargers finished 29-14 overall and won their first Arrowhead Conference championship since 2008.

A Brimfield High School graduate, Foreman began his collegiate career at Waubonsee from 2002-03, earning Second-Team All-Region IV honors in both of his seasons with the Chiefs. He also set the Waubonsee record for career RBIs with 81.

Foreman then transferred to Murray State, an NCAA Division I program, and played in 63 games for the Racers from 2004-05. 

Email Coach Foreman:

Assistant coach

Chad Scott