Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

West Central Wins Individual, Team Academic Challenge Titles

Sandburg Logo

Feb. 14, 2014
CARTHAGE—About 80 students from five area high schools tested their knowledge in a variety of subjects in the Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) Academic Challenge regional competition Tuesday at Carl Sandburg College’s Branch Campus in Carthage.

Sydney Bigger of West Central was crowned the individual champion after placing first in biology and mathematics. West Central also won the overall team title for the first time since 2010, ending a run of three straight championships by Hamilton. Hamilton placed second and Illini West finished third.

Students from Hamilton, Illini West, Warsaw, West Central and West Prairie high schools were tested in biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics. The top three finishers in each category received awards, and the top two from each category advanced to compete in the WYSE sectional competition March 17 at Knox College.

The WYSE Academic Challenge is offered by more than 50 community colleges and universities in Illinois and Missouri. Material for the multiple-choice tests is drawn from senior high school and freshman level college curricula.

The top three finishers in each subject are as follows:

1. Sydney Bigger (West Central)
2. Gretchen Sadler (Hamilton)
3. Thomas Lewis (West Central)

1. Brad Bavery (West Central)
2. Andrew Lewis (West Central)
3. Michael Koblas-Ramirez (Hamilton)

1. Haley Willits (West Central)
2. Wyatt Newberry (Illini West)
3. Ian Taylor (West Prairie)

1. Drew Beeler (Warsaw)
2. Riley Beckhuizen (Hamilton)
3. Catie Steck (West Central)
Honorable mention — Dylan Bogguss (Warsaw)

1. Carlin Reinig (Hamilton)
2. Heather Bell (Hamilton)
3. Mackenzie Olson (West Central)

1. Sydney Bigger (West Central)
2. Kenzi Massey (Hamilton)
3. Heather Bell (Hamilton)
Honorable mention — Cole Fox (Hamilton) and Elyce Trout (Illini West)

1. Caleb Paulus (West Central)
2. Michael Koblas-Ramirez (Hamilton)
3. Sam Spangler (Illini West)

1. West Central
2. Hamilton
3. Illini West