Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Sandburg Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members

Sandburg Logo

Feb. 18, 2013
GALESBURG—Carl Sandburg College welcomed 27 new members into its Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an honor society for two-year colleges. An induction ceremony took place Feb. 7 at the Main Campus in Galesburg.


The new members for spring 2013 are: Cody Appell (Altona), Haley Bolliger (Galesburg), Grace Cleair (Rio), Ellen Corbin (Galesburg), Chelsea Derry (Roseville), Emily Douglas (Monmouth), Allison Lafary (Smithshire), Stephen Lipe (Galesburg), Christine Long (Colona), Bailey Lynch (Galesburg), Lindsay McGraw (Galesburg), Kaitlyn McQueen (Altona), Affiyo Menyassan (Galesburg), Ashtin Mercer (Kewanee), Estelle Mettler (Galesburg), James Montague (Galesburg), Amanda Morgan (Hamilton), Carol Olsen (Monmouth), Kayla Pitchford (Gilson), Becca Schwieter (Gilson), Mary Anne Shehata (Galesburg), Cassandra Sherwin (Galesburg), Richard Shinall (Blandinsville), Merissa Shinn (Abingdon), Jessica Shuman (Warsaw), Deidra Stewart (Danville) and Alex Weidenhamer (Dahinda).


To become a member, students must be currently enrolled and must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 after a minimum of 12 hours of course work leading to an associate degree. Sandburg inducts members once a semester based on these academic criteria. In the past, members have led a campaign to get fellow students to commit to complete their degrees, conducted and received an award for an on-campus research project, sponsored fundraisers and participated in several other projects.


Phi Theta Kappa includes more than 1,000 two-year colleges across the United States, Canada and abroad and is committed to recognizing outstanding scholarship. Membership not only enhances a student’s resume but also provides them with special transfer scholarship opportunities at most four-year colleges and universities.




Spring 2013 inductees into the Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society

Pictured are members of Carl Sandburg College’s spring 2013 inductees into the Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Front row, left to right: Affiyo Menyassan, Kaitlyn McQueen, Merissa Shinn, Haley Bolliger and Crystal Gill. Back row, l-r: Becca Schwieter, Alex Weidenhamer, Ellen Corbin, Carol Olsen, Cassandra Sherwin and Alison Lafary.