Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Sandburg Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members

Sandburg Logo

Oct. 31, 2012
GALESBURG – Carl Sandburg College recently inducted 28 new members into its Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an honor society for two-year colleges.


The fall 2012 inductees were Kyle Coffin (Galesburg), Lynn Conner (Galesburg), Esther Crain (Galesburg), Kristi Endicott (Galesburg), Suzette Hall (Dahinda), Melissa Hammitt (Monmouth), Stephen Hartman (Galesburg), Tag Hartman-Simkins (Galesburg), Andrew Hayes (Galesburg), Jessica Huston (Carthage), Amanda Kerker (Augusta), Whitney Kimbrough (Galesburg), John Lambert (Oneida), Amy Lesher (Galesburg), Holly Mason (Abingdon), Joel McKillip (Galesburg), Jodi Morris (Galesburg), Michael Nache (Galesburg), Steven Oaks (Cameron), Angela Orten (Maquon), Brenda Palmer (Carthage), Melissa Roller (Alexis), Kaitlyn Schisler (Galesburg), Ann Sloan (Knoxville), Caitlin Tiehen (Galesburg), Julieta Valencia (Galesburg), Chadrick Von Kiedrowski (Hamilton), and Lisa Zucco (Abingdon). 


To become a member, students must be currently enrolled and must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 after a minimum of 12 hours of course work leading to an associate's degree. Sandburg inducts members once a semester based on academic performance as well as other criteria. Members also participate in various school events and festivals as well as outreach programs aimed at the community and high school students. Many of these programs are designed or decided upon by Phi Theta Kappa members.


The Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa is committed to recognizing outstanding scholarship and to assisting its members in obtaining academic scholarships and job opportunities while fostering leadership and personal achievement. The organization offers several national scholarships as well as opportunities to be nominated for additional honors such as membership on the society's Academic All-American Team.




Carl Sandburg College’s fall 2012 inductees into the Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society


Pictured are Carl Sandburg College’s fall 2012 inductees into the Chi Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Front row, left to right: Angela Orten, Michael Nache, Jodi Morris, Melissa Hammitt and Lynn Conner. Back row, l-r: Whitney Kimbrough, Steven Oaks, Kyle Coffin, Tag Hartman-Simkins and advisor Shanon Dickerson.