Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Hubbard Named 1st-Team All-Region, 2nd-Team All-Conference

chargers logo

March 27, 2014
GALESBURG—On the heels of helping lead the Carl Sandburg College men’s basketball team to its first NJCAA Division II national tournament, sophomore Juwan Hubbard (Rockford, Ill./Guilford) has been named to the All-Region IV Division II District A first team and All-Arrowhead Conference second team.

A 6-foot guard, Hubbard was the leading vote getter on the all-region team and came one vote shy of being named first-team all-conference. He led the Chargers in scoring (17.3 point per game), assists (4.1) and steals (1.6), and he finished third on the team with 4.6 rebounds per contest.

In Sandburg’s five postseason games, Hubbard averaged 18 points, 7.8 rebounds, 6.6 assists and 1.4 steals. He was named the MVP of the Region IV District A tournament after leading the Chargers to their first region championship.

Hubbard started 33 of Sandburg’s 34 games this season and scored in double digits in 27 of them. He had at least 20 points on 13 occasions and scored a career-high 36 points in the Chargers’ 89-82 win at North Central Missouri on Nov. 2.

“There’s no doubt Juwan was one of our biggest leaders on and off the court, and he took his game to another level this season,” Sandburg coach Ryan Twaddle said. “The thing that impressed me most about Juwan was that he did whatever he felt was necessary to help our team win. He could score if we needed him to score, but he was comfortable distributing to his teammates if it was the right play. Both of these honors are well deserved, and he’s going to be tough for us to replace next season.”


All-Region IV Division II District A
First team — Antonio Levy (South Suburban), Juwan Hubbard (Carl Sandburg), Damien Enoch (Olive-Harvey), Donnell Cegers (Kishwaukee), Torrance Evans (Black Hawk East).
Second team — Jalen Brown (South Suburban), Paul Beene (Triton), Taylor Lavery (Kishwaukee), Marshall Bennett (Black Hawk), Torrance Johnson (Illinois Valley).

All-Arrowhead Conference
First team — Donnell Cegers (MVP, Kishwaukee), Deon Andrews (Highland), Taylor Lavery (Kishwaukee), Torrance Evans (Black Hawk East), Grant Prusator (Highland).
Second team — Juwan Hubbard (Carl Sandburg), Carlos Hendrix (Sauk Valley), Jacob Posley (Sauk Valley), Marvin Jones (Highland), Torrance Johnson (Illinois Valley).
Coach of the Year — Nathan Courtney (Highland)




Juwan Hubbard

Juwan Hubbard