Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Chargers Win Final Arrowhead Meet, Place 4 on All-Conference Team

chargers logo

May 7, 2014
GALESBURG—The Carl Sandburg College men’s golf team ended its regular season by winning the final Arrowhead Conference meet of the spring, which was hosted by the Chargers on Tuesday at Lake Bracken Country Club.


Sandburg’s 317 team total edged Black Hawk by three strokes. Highland (326), Illinois Valley (341) and Sauk Valley (345) rounded out the team scoring. Chargers sophomore Joey Juergens (Galesburg, Ill./Galesburg) was the meet medalist after shooting a 3-over-par 74.


For the second year in a row, the Chargers had four players earn All-Arrowhead Conference honors for finishing in the top 12 of the individual season standings. Freshman Ryan Ballard (Germantown Hills, Ill./Metamora) placed sixth, and Juergens finished eighth. Freshman Austin McDougall III (Pekin, Ill./Pekin) was 11th overall, while freshman Dylan Mullins (Metamora, Ill./Metamora) tied Highland’s Ben Bastian for the 12th and final all-conference spot. Josh Bousman of Black Hawk was the individual conference champion.


Black Hawk clinched the team conference title, while the Chargers finished in sole possession of second place. Illinois Valley finished a point behind Sandburg in the team standings. Highland took fourth, and Sauk Valley was fifth.


Ballard shot 8 over during Tuesday’s round. McDougall came in at 9 over, and Mullins carded a 10-over 82. Freshman Bryer Anderson (Elmwood, Ill./Farmington) added a 90 that didn’t count toward Sandburg’s team score.


“Today was a great day. We were able to beat a very good Black Hawk team and we also had four golfers make all-conference,” Chargers coach Ryan Twaddle said. “Lake Bracken played very tough today. We had a lot of wind and the greens were very quick. We want to carry this good result and build on it heading to the national tournament in two weeks.”


The Chargers will now turn their attention to the NJCAA Division II national tournament, which takes place May 20-23 at Swan Lake Resort in Plymouth, Ind. It will be the second straight year and fourth time in the last five years the Chargers will play at the national tournament.