Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Chargers’ Shaw, Trokey Earn All-Arrowhead Baseball Honors

chargers logo

May 29, 2014
GALESBURG—Carl Sandburg College baseball players Connor Shaw (Moline, Ill./Moline) and Jeff Trokey (Troy, Mo./Buchanan) have been named to the All-Arrowhead Conference team for their outstanding play for the Chargers this past season.

Shaw, a sophomore outfielder, played in 46 of Sandburg’s 49 games this spring. He hit .278 overall, and his .370 average in league play was the third highest marking among Arrowhead Conference outfielders. His tiebreaking, two-run single at Illinois Valley the final conference game of the season helped the Chargers finish with a winning record in Arrowhead play. Shaw finished the year with 13 RBIs, 20 runs, four stolen bases and three outfield assists.

Trokey, a sophomore right-hander, posted a 4-0 in five conference games on the mound. He pitched a team-best 35 innings in league play, and his 25 strikeouts and 2.57 ERA against Arrowhead Conference competition were both good for second on the team. His four wins overall during the season tied fellow sophomore Jon Kupfert for the team lead, and his 4.15 ERA and 1.48 WHIP were both third on the squad.

2014 All-Arrowhead Conference Baseball Team
Infielders — Drew Owens (Black Hawk), Jake Olsen (Black Hawk), John Boidanis (Black Hawk), Buddy Ahlstrom (Illinois Valley), Andrew Shaver (Sauk Valley). Outfielders — Matt Fallon (Black Hawk), Brinn Bell (Black Hawk), Connor Shaw (Carl Sandburg), Jeremy McCarty (Kishwaukee). Catchers — Jake Viaene (Black Hawk), Jonathan Eduarda (Highland). Designated hitter — Levi Ericson (Illinois Valley). Pitchers — Kyle Manske (Black Hawk), Cody Smith (Black Hawk), Jeff Trokey (Carl Sandburg), Damin Smith (Illinois Valley). MVP — Drew Owens (Black Hawk).




Connor Shaw     Jeff Trokey

         Connor Shaw                              Jeff Trokey