Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Chargers’ Pflum, Butrimas Named to All-Arrowhead Team

chargers logo

May 15, 2013
GALESBURG—Carl Sandburg College sophomore shortstop Brian Pflum (Burlington, Iowa/Burlington) and freshman pitcher Brendan Butrimas (Mississauga, Ontario/Philip Pocock) have been named to the all-Arrowhead Conference team for their outstanding play this season.

Pflum, a transfer from Loras College, led the Chargers in the Triple Crown categories with a .351 batting average, two home runs (tied with freshman outfielder Connor Shaw) and 35 RBIs. He also had a team-best 52 hits, .911 on-base plus slugging percentage and tied Shaw for the team lead with 12 doubles. He batted .375 with a pair of homers and 20 RBIs in Arrowhead action.

Butrimas posted a team-best 2.76 ERA, tied three others for the team lead with four wins and didn’t lose a game. He appeared in nine games, struck out 29 and walked 19 in 42 1/3 innings, good for fifth on the squad. The right-hander sported a 2-0 record and 1.80 ERA over 25 innings in five conference games.

The pair helped the Chargers win 10 of their final 13 contests and finish the season with a 25-25 overall record. Sandburg won its last six conference games to end up 11-9 in Arrowhead play, second to Black Hawk in the league standings.

2013 All-Arrowhead Conference Baseball Team
Most Valuable Player — Kendall Patrick (Black Hawk)
Infield — Emilio Alonso (Black Hawk), A.J. Arroyo (Kishwaukee), Eann Cox (Black Hawk), Jake Johnson (Black Hawk), Brian Pflum (Carl Sandburg)
Outfield — Tommy Argo (Black Hawk), Jake Gordon (Kishwaukee), Blake Moe (Black Hawk), Dave Yancey (Black Hawk)
Catcher — Casey McCallister (Kishwaukee), Kendall Patrick (Black Hawk)
Designated hitter — Corbin Bleam (Sauk Valley)
Pitcher — Brendan Butrimas (Carl Sandburg), Eann Cox (Black Hawk), Jake Sharp (Black Hawk), Cody Smith (Black Hawk)



Brian Pflum   Brendan Butrimas

Brian Pflum                                             Brendan Butrimas