Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Bolliger Breaks 6K School Record at Bradley Pink Classic

chargers logo

Oct. 21, 2013
PEORIA—Sophomore Haley Bolliger finished 16th in the women’s race and broke her own 6-kilometer school record as the Carl Sandburg College cross country teams closed the regular season at the Bradley Pink Classic on Friday at Newman Golf Course.
Bolliger’s time of 23 minutes, 36 seconds shattered her previous mark of 24:12, which she set three weeks earlier at the Brissman-Lundeen Invitational.


“Haley is making outstanding progress as we near the end of this season,” Chargers coach Bruce Tracy said. “We always try to have peak performances at the end of October and early November. In two weeks we will compete at the Region IV meet, and the plan is working out well for her to qualify for the NJCAA national meet and see if she can go after her best finish in the national meet in Fort Dodge, Iowa.”


Sandburg’s women’s team finished eighth of 13 squads in the College Division with 235 points. Other finishers for the Chargers were Chrissy Kokjohn (85th, 27:23), Bayleigh Harrison (89th, 27:35), Marisa Miller (96th, 28:06), Kenzie Payton (98th, 28:19), Abbie Billeter (102nd, 28:42) and Tessa Vowels (123rd, 31:27).


Missouri won the women’s team title with 15 points. Bridget Carius of Illinois Central was the individual winner with a time of 22:15.


Sandburg’s men’s team took ninth of 13 teams in the College Division. Rimirez Black led the Chargers with a time of 28:50 on the 8K course, good for 57th overall. Other runners for the Chargers were Jeff Hilgenberg (79th, 29:58), John Peterson (82nd, 30:11), David Kantor (83rd, 30:18), Tyler Schuermann (98th, 31:21), Jake Wolf (110th, 32:11) and Will Palmer (123rd, 34:43).


IUPUI captured the team title with 27 points, and Mike Castel of Western Illinois was the individual champion with a time of 25:43.


Sandburg’s next meet is the Region IV championship on Nov. 2 at Community Park in Channahon. The women’s race will begin at 11 a.m., followed by the men’s race at 11:45 a.m.




Haley Bolliger

Haley Bolliger