Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

How to file a report

 

How do you report sexual assault, domestic or dating violence or stalking?

 

If you have been sexually assaulted or injured in any way, you should seek medical treatment immediately regardless of whether you report the matter to police.

 

If on campus, immediately call the Department of Public Safety (DPS) at 309.341.5499 or 911 for the local police and emergency medical services.

If off campus or at an off campus site, call 911 for emergency services.

 

If the victim chooses, the Department of Public Safety can assist in contacting the law enforcement authorities. Consider seeking assistance from the sexual assault crisis center in your area; see the Victim Assistance Agencies below.

The student does have the right to decline notification of authorities.

 

Reporting options:

Electronically: You may report an act of sexual violence electronically by filling out this form: Report Form

 

Third party: A third party or bystander may report acts of sexual violence to Sandburg’s Department of Public Safety, electronically by filling out this Report Form, or by contacting any of the departments listed below.

 

In person: Victims, third parties and bystanders can make a report of sexual violence and violations to Sandburg’s policy in person to any of the staff or departments listed below.

 

Sandburg employees that are considered Campus Security Authorities (CSA) are individuals that are required to report allegations of sexual assault and violations to Sandburg’s policy against sexual violence. These individuals may ensure the privacy of the victim and can keep the victim’s name and personal information confidential. Communications between the victim and the CSA may also remain confidential.

 

Department

Contact person

Contact information

Office Location

Director of Public Safety

Kip Canfield

309.341.5325 kcanfield@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201A

Title IX Coordinator

Rick Eddy

309.341.5234 reddy@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E113

Confidential advisors

Amy Burford

309.341.5497 aburford@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E129

Ellen Henderson-Gasser

217.357.7247 ehenderson@sandburg.edu

Carthage

Vicki McMullin

309.341.5423 vmcmullin@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E116

Dan Yasenko

309.341.5248 dyasenko@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E114

Academic Advisors

Nate Friberg

309.341.5232 nfriberg@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E105

Heather Hillhouse

309.341.5483 hhillhouse@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E100

Jennifer Holmes

309.341.5338 jholmes@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E115

Megan Jones

309.341.5229 mjones@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E117

Misty Lyon

309.341.5422 mlyon@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E112

Autumn Scott

309.341.5462 ascott@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E131

Jeani Talbott

309.341.5449 jtalbott@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E100

Student Life Coordinator

Genny Stevens

309.341.5332 gstevens@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B56

Coaches

Mike Bailey

309.341.5338 mbailey@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F121

Rodney Blue

309.341.5250 rblue@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Kevin Mahlan

309.341.5256 kmahlan@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F139

Jake Tenhouse

309.341.5472 jtenhouse@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B24

Ryan Twaddle

309.341.5245 rtwaddle@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F139

Todd Winkler

309.341.5345 twinkler@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F121

Assistant Coaches – no office phone available

 

 

 

 

 

Sarah Baker

sbaker@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F121

Spencer Cochrane

scochrane@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Gail Hannam

ghannam@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E233

Kokou Kaho

kkaho@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F139

Katie King

kwilson@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F121

Jon Kupfert

jkupfert@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B24

Jeremy Pickerel

jpickerel@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B24

Chad Scott

cscott@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B24

Mitch Wendling

mwendling@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F139

Public Safety          officers

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dean Blust

309.341.5304 edblust@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Michael Christensen

309-341-5304 mchristensen@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Donna Damitz

309-341-5304 ddamitz@sandburg.edu  

Galesburg D201

Todd Dennison

309-341-5304 tdennison@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Chelvis Jordan

309-341-5304 cjordan@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

John Lambert

309-341-5304 jlambert@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

John Neville

309-341-5304 jneville@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

David Olin

309-341-5304 dolin@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Terrance Pendleton

309-341-5304 tpendleton@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Dyson Shannon

309-341-5304 dshannon@sandburg.edu

Galesburg D201

Student Club Advisors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amber Fox

309.341.5298 afox@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B18

James Hutchings

309.341.5307 jhutchings@sandburg.edu

Galesburg C108

Dave Kellogg

309.341.5313 dkellogg@sandburg.edu

Galesburg A015

Barb Kirchgessner

309.341.2242 bkirchgessner@sandburg.edu

Galesburg Annex

Stacy Kosier

309.341.2222 skosier@sandburg.edu

Galesburg Annex

Tim Krause

309.345.8501 tkrause@sandburg.edu

Galesburg H113

Anthony Law

309.341.5439 alaw@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B28

Mary Pence

309.341.5204 mpence@sandburg.edu

Galesburg A109

Kylie Price

309.341.5239 kprice@sandburg.edu

Galesburg C118

Lara Roemer

309.341.5219 lroemer@sandburg.edu

Galesburg A005

Jamie Schave

309.341.5477 jschave@sandburg.edu

Galesburg CME111

Susan Sharp

309.3415287 ssharp@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F101

Chris Shaw

309.341.5283 cshaw@sandburg.edu

Galesburg E102

Genny Stevens

309.341.5332 gstevens@sandburg.edu

Galesburg B56

Christina Stone

309.341.5292 cstone@sandburg.edu

Galesburg A105

Lisa Walker

309.341.5303 lwalker@sandburg.edu

Galesburg F101

Jackie Whipple

309.341.5222 jwhipple@sandburg.edu

Galesburg C223

 

 

If You Are The Victim of a Sexual Assault:

  • Be aware of your own capabilities and limitations. Your judgment and thinking will be your best weapons. Evaluate the situation for possible avenues of escape.
  • Your first concern should be for your personal safety and survival. Use your judgment to do what is necessary to save your life. That may mean making a scene by drawing attention to yourself so that the assailant leaves. It may mean fighting back. It may mean not resisting physically.
  • If you choose not to resist the attack physically, it does not mean that you have asked to be sexually assaulted. It means that you did what was needed to survive.
  • Remember, there are several “right” ways to respond. The person being attacked is the best judge of which options will work in that situation.
  • Take notice of the characteristics of your assailant, the person’s habits, surroundings, contacts, speech and mannerisms. This could enable you to deal with the assailant and perhaps talk your way out of a rape situation or provide a means of escape. Also, this information is invaluable for the police in trying to apprehend the criminal.
  • Get to a safe place as soon as you can.
  • It is critical to preserve all physical evidence. DO NOT bathe, shower, douche, use the toilet, eat, drink or smoke. DO NOT change clothing. DO NOT touch anything the suspect may have touched, DO NOT chase the suspect.
  • The responding DPS officer or administrator will assist with protection, first aid, counseling referrals, and notifying local law enforcement agencies when requested to do so by the victim. It is important that the victim receive medical attention immediately following the incident. The responding DPS officer or administrator will assist the victim as needed.
  • The DPS will coordinate with the Sandburg Counseling Services utilizing the approved protocols. When a victim notifies the DPS of a sexual assault, the local police or sheriff’s office will not be notified without the victim’s consent. The victim may want to talk with a trained counselor or have a counselor present during police and medical proceedings. The DPS and/or Counseling Services will assist the victim by explaining available options, to include notifying local law enforcement, and they will assist the victim in notifying local law enforcement, upon request.

 

Male Victims:

While most victims of sexual assault are women, some men are also victims. Male victims will receive the same services as women. Emotional support, optional counseling, legal advocacy and medical treatment are available to assist all those recovering from sexual assault.

 

Local Hospitals:

Galesburg Medical Facilities                                                        
Galesburg Cottage Hospital
695 N Kellogg St
Galesburg, IL 61401
309.343.8131                                         

                            

OSF St Mary Medical Center
3333 N Seminary St
Galesburg, IL 61401
309.344.3161

 

Monmouth Medical Facilities

OSF Holy Family Medical Center
1000 W Harlem Ave
Monmouth, IL 61462
309.734.3141

 

Macomb Medical Facilities

McDonough District Hospital
525 East Grant St
Macomb, IL 61455
309.833.4101

 

Carthage Medical Facilities

Memorial Hospital
1454 North County Road 2050
Carthage, IL 62321
217-357-8500

 

Victims Assistance Agencies:

Victims are encouraged to report a sexual assault to the Sandburg Department of Public Safety. However, if the victim does not want to file a report, there are resources available, which include:

 

Sandburg Counseling Services: Galesburg campus E100 309.341.5237 Bushnell campus 309.772.2177 Carthage campus 217.357.3129 ext. 7247

Bridgeway Inc.: 2323 Windish Dr. Galesburg, IL 61401 309.344.2323

Advanced Behavioral Health: 2101 Windish Dr. Galesburg, IL 61401 309.342.6852

Galesburg Public Library: Provides material for dealing with abuse, including books and
legal resources. Free Internet access is available. 309.343.6118.

Knox County Child Advocacy: Child Advocacy Center- Providing services to child victims of sexual abuse and serious physical abuse cases in Knox, Warren and Henderson Counties. 309.344.8416.

Knox County State’s Attorney Victim Advocate: Provides emotional support, court advocacy, service referrals, case status updates and scheduling info for victims or survivors of violent crimes once the criminal case has been filed. 309.345.3886.

Safe Harbor Family Crisis Center 24-Hour Crisis Line: Provides confidential help to individuals who are experiencing violence in their relationships through court advocacy, a 24 hour crisis line, emergency safe house, counseling, food and clothing and referral services. Walk-ins welcome. 1188 W. Main St., Galesburg. 309.343.SAFE (7233).

Victim Services 24-Hour Crisis Line: All services are free and confidential. Services in Knox County are for sexual abuse/assault survivors only. Crisis intervention, legal advocacy and follow-up counseling services. www.wirpc.org/victimservices. 309.837.5555

Hancock County Mental Health: 357-3176 www.mhcwi.org (Carthage)

WIRC-CAA Victim Services: 837-3941 Crisis line: 309.837.555 (Macomb)